Author Topic: Green Drinks  (Read 5392 times)

Linda

• Prolific Member
Green Drinks
« on: June 26, 2010, 05:34:03 AM »
Not sure if this is the place to post this, but I read a lot on the healing power of green drinks and using them to bring your health up to a more peak level. I have been drinking them for a few years mainly as green smoothies. The most popular and easy one is a couple handfuls of greens (spinach, romaine, leaf lettuce) add to that a banana and 1 1/2 - 2 cups water,  blend till smooth, drink! Your body will assimilate more vitamins from the greens after being blended, and also being a raw food source, than you could possibly get from eating the same amount by chewing.

Most greens have what is called a cell wall, in order to absorb the max nutrition from the greens you have to break the cell wall, which means chewing them to applesauce consistency. The other problem we have is digesting the tough fibrous parts of the greens, thus the blender does the work for us. You will still get the benefits of the fiber and greens without digestion issues.

These make a great breakfast. If you are planning on getting through the rough times ahead of us,  you are going to need a healthy body to do it. Start now while this stuff is easily available, get more raw foods into your diet. There are tons of recipes for Green Smoothies on the web, so its endless.

I will share a lunch smoothie that is a favorite of mine.
Just put everything in blender until smooth

2 tomatoes
1 stalk celery
handful spinach
handful romaine
half cuke cut up(peeled if wax coated)
dash hot sauce and soy sauce ( I like tamari, its wheat free)
handful of ice, and water (about 1- 1/2 cup)

Note: you can change up the greens to whatever suits your taste buds and availability.

There you have 6 servings of veggies for the day, all raw and full of nutrients, it is your own V6 juice.

Linda :)

recommended reading: Green for life; Victoria Boutenko