Win-Win Survival Communities The Kolbrin Bible Complete Danjeon Breathing System Radio Free Earth

Author Topic: Surviving animal attacks  (Read 4758 times)

Yowbarb

Surviving animal attacks
« on: June 05, 2014, 05:49:44 PM »
Yowbarb Note: This article is found in Prepared For That website, a wealth of information.

http://preparedforthat.com/preventing-surviving-bear-attack/

Preventing and Surviving a Bear Attack

September 29, 2013 by Josh

Yowbarb

Re: Surviving animal attacks
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2014, 11:30:21 AM »
This just randomly popped into my head, looking at this Topic title...
I am not an expert in cattle prods nor do I know the best deal to get one.

This type will not hold the charge, once used, to avoid electrical hazard. Battery operated.
Looks like it extends out and could be kept in a backpack to ward off four legged creatures of all types and the two legged variety also.
Syrvet Livestock Prod - from ValleyVet.com  They are based in Marysville, Kansas

http://www.valleyvet.com/zoomimage.html?img=swatches/21925_L_vvs_000.jpg

steedy

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 07:45:02 AM »
I have often wondered what I'd do if a bear came in too close to my property.  The bears in this area are occasionally coming into town for a couple days now, so I think it's just a matter of time before I encounter one.  Especially once I get chickens.  I've always heard raising your arms to look bigger will scare them off, but I think keeping a gun nearby won't be a bad idea.  I'd much rather shoot it over the bear to scare it away than to shoot the bear directly.

Yowbarb

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2014, 03:15:18 PM »